Friday, November 24, 2023

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros: AFR journalists win Gold Walkley for PwC story

 Congratulations to

and on their Gold Walkley Award for change-making impact of their and Big Four consultancy exposè. Now .. let’s rebuild a frank and fearless public service.. federal and state!

I want to dedicate My first

award to all the brave artists who fight tyranny with their pens and lives. May the pen is always mightier than the sword. And sorry for hurting the CCP feeling again.

AFR journalists win Gold Walkley for PwC story

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros have won the Gold Walkley, the top honour at the 68th Walkley awards, for their coverage of the PwC tax leaks scandal on a night that recognised The Australian Financial Review’s decades-long contribution to Australian journalism.
Chenoweth and Tadros won three categories for their reporting of the scandal, which ultimately led to the break-up of the accounting firm in Australia and the biggest crackdown on misconduct by tax advisers in Australian history.

Edmund Tadros and Neil Chenoweth won the Gold Walkley for their coverage of the PwC tax scandal. 
Along with the Gold Walkley, they took out the prestigious investigative journalism and business journalism awards, and together with columnists James Thomson and Joe Aston and The Fin podcast team, Lisa Murray, Alex Gow and Lap Phan, won the award for coverage of a major news event for the PwC story.
“Clearly the most outstanding piece of journalism of the year,” said the Walkley judges. “This is powerful, important, brave reporting that uncovered the infiltration of consultants into government. This work shows the power of journalism to hold corporations to account.”
In an effort to redress a historic gender imbalance in the awarding of the Outstanding Contribution to Journalism award, which recognises the breadth of a journalist’s career, the Walkley Foundation honoured eight women, including two who have played pivotal roles in the history of the Financial Review.
Investigative journalist Pam Williams, who won six Walkley awards including the 1998 Gold Walkley, and former editor Colleen Ryan, who was part of a team that won the Gold Walkley for the Rivkin’s Swiss bank scandal story in 2004, were honoured.
In addition to Williams and Ryan, the Walkley Foundation recognised Kate McClymont, Caroline Wilson, Geraldine Doogue, Joanne McCarthy, Karla Grant and Marian Wilkinson.
The Australian Financial Review team from left: Alex Gow, Lisa Murray, Edmund Tadros, Neil Chenoweth, James Thomson and Lap Phan, won the Walkley for Coverage of a major event or issue. 
Financial Review editor Michael Stutchbury applauded what has been a dominant year for the masthead, which has led coverage of two of the year’s biggest stories in the PwC tax leaks scandal and the trouble at Qantas that led to the early retirement of chief executive Alan Joyce.
“Tonight has been one of the Financial Review’s greatest Walkley nights with Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros’ Gold and three other Walkleys for the PwC scandal, the business story of the year – and outstanding contribution to journalism awards for our former editor-at-large Pam Williams and former editor Colleen Ryan.
“Recognition of our other winners and finalists confirm the Fin Review newsroom as one of Australia’s best,” said editor-in-chief Michael Stutchbury and editor Fiona Buffini, in a statement.
Colleagues from The Sydney Morning HeraldThe Ageand 60 Minutes were also recognised with awards including Paul Sakkal, Carrie Fellner, Katrina McGowan, Rhett Wyman, Mathew Cornwell, the visual stories team, Eddie Jim, Nick McKenzie, Amelia Ballinger, Joel Tozer, and cartoonist Badiucao.
“The awards and honours presented tonight shine a spotlight on the strength of Australian journalism, from journalists working on the frontline today and from those who started their careers 40 years ago,” Walkley Foundation’s chief executive Shona Martyn said.
“The work that is honoured tonight is world class. Australian news consumers are well served by journalists of this calibre. Our news organisations should be rightly proud.”

Declassified Australia is celebrating with co-founder Antony Loewenstein who has tonight won the prized Walkley Book Award for his awesome book ‘The Palestine Laboratory’. Congratulations!