Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Daniel M. Holland Medal

 “…and whatever a man knows, whatever is not mere rumbling and roaring that he has heard, can be said in three words.” 

~ Ferdinand Kurnberger

Kate McClymont honoured at Walkleys for outstanding contribution to journalism

  1. Thomas More by Gerard B. Wegemer.


  1. Interpretations of Probability by Alan Hájek.
  2. Belief by Eric Schwitzgebel.
  3. 18th Century French Aesthetics by Jennifer Tsien and Jacques Morizot.
  4. Retrocausality in Quantum Mechanics by Simon Friederich and Peter W. Evans.

IEP     ∅   


  1. Putting Properties First: A Platonic Metaphysics for Natural Modality by Matthew Tugby is reviewed by Gonzalo Rodriguez-Pereyra.
  2. Kommentare zu Aristoteles, ›De Partibus Animalium‹: Redaktionen zu Michael von Ephesos. Kritische Edition und Einleitung by Anonymous (Codex Hieros. S.S.108) and Georgios Pachymeres, and edited by Eleni Pappa is reviewed by Denis Walter.        

1000-Word Philosophy     ∅     

Project Vox     ∅

Open-Access Book Reviews in Academic Philosophy Journals     ∅

Recent Philosophy Book Reviews in Non-Academic Media     

  1. The Visionaries: Arendt, Beauvoir, Rand, Weil and the Salvation of Philosophy by Wolfram Eilenberger, translated by Shaun Whiteside is reviewed by Skye C. Cleary at The Times Literary Supplement
  2. The Need For Roots by Simone Weil, translated by Ros Schwartz is reviewed by Madoc Cairns at The Times Literary Supplement.

Compiled by Michael Glawson

BONUS: Rejecting empiricism

Daniel Shaviro (NYU; Google Scholar), Talk at National Tax Association Holland Medal Ceremony:

On November 3, 2023, I received the Daniel M. Holland Medal at the 116th Annual Meeting of the National Tax Association. According to the NTA website: “The Holland Medal is the most prestigious award given by the NTA, as it recognizes lifetime achievement in the study of the theory and practice of public finance.” These are the remarks that I made at the Holland Medal ceremony.

Recipients of the Holland Medal (1993-2023):

2023Daniel Shaviro
2022Jane Gravelle
2021Rosanne Altshuler
2020David Wildasin
2019Louis Kaplow
2018Michael Keen
2017James R. Hines Jr.
2016Alvin C. Warren, Jr.
2015William D. Andrews
2014James Poterba
2013Michael Graetz
2012Joel Slemrod
2011Alan Auerbach
2010Henry Aaron
2009Peter Mieszkowski
2008Walter Hellerstein
2007Harvey Rosen
2006Richard Bird
2005Roy Bahl
2004Charles E. McLure
2003Martin Feldstein
2002Wallace E. Oates
2001Arnold C. Harberger
2000John F. Due
1999Oliver Oldman
1998C. Lowell Harriss
1997Richard Goode
1996George F. Break
1994Richard Musgrave
1993Carl S. Shoup